I had my second cataract operation at 7 am this morning. All seems to have gone well, but the eye is covered with a patch until tomorrow morning so I’ll have to keep my fingers crossed until then. The fellow who did the surgery was the medical school roommate of a guy I went to school with in Baltimore from kindergarten through high school. It’s a small world, sometimes even in the doctor/patient relationship.

Just about a half hour ago, reading a cousin’s blog entry, I was introduced to an artist who somehow knows so much about vision that he can create 3-D optical illusions. Maybe it’s because I only have one eye working at the moment, but these mind-bending images by the London-based Patrick Hughes in an exhibition at the Birmingham (England) Museum & Art Gallery have forever challenged the notion that I know what I’m seeing.

 

