Tags

O’s third baseman Manny Machado seems to be turning his lackluster season around. Both prior to, and especially since serving the five-game suspension for his temper tantrums in early June, Manny has gotten hot with the bat and the glove. This article (and video) from Bleacher Report tells of his latest exploits.

Way to go Manny! One of my guys! I hope you’ll be playing as well as Roger Federer did at Wimbledon when you are approaching your 33rd birthday. And like Roger, I hope you’ll have the intelligence to hang around with the best people, and to know when to distance yourself from those who are not the best. Federer subtly but quickly put lots of space between himself and Tiger Woods after Woods’ 2009 cheating scandal. Machado, by contrast, was quoted recently saying that he considers Yankee star (and doper) Alex Rodriguez “a great friend.” This apparently has Orioles’ manager Buck Showalter worried.

Manny has just turned 22. Lord knows what I would have been doing with myself at the same age if I had had the eye-popping talent that Manny possesses but, unencumbered by fame, I chose great people for friends, for which I am immensely grateful.

In other news that probably won’t make the major media outlets, I ate the best mango of my life yesterday. (Just thought you’d like to know.) Take William Carlos Williams’ famous poem about plums and heighten the experience 500-fold and you’ll get an idea of how delicious it was.

This Is Just to Say

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

