Spent the day mostly indoors wearing a sweater and a (light) parka. Turned the heat on at about 6 pm.  

Am I really appealing for sympathy from a Vermont spring-chilly house?

I bought a book today – Letters of Note: An Eclectic Collection of Letters Deserving of a Wider Audience. One of the letters is from the explorer Robert Scott who, after reaching the South Pole four weeks after the Norwegian expedition led by Roald Amundsen, wrote to his soon-to-be widow as he neared his death on March 29, 1912:

“Dear it is not easy to write because of the cold – 70 degrees below zero and nothing but the shelter of our tent – you know I have loved you, you know my thoughts must have constantly dwelt on you and oh dear me you must know that quite the worst aspect of this situation is the thought I shall not see you again… You see I am anxious for you and the boy’s future – make the boy interested in natural history if you can, it is better than games – they encourage it at some schools – I know you will keep him out in the open air – try and make him believe in a God, it is comforting.  Oh my dear my dear what dreams I have of his future and yet oh my girl I know you will face it stoically – your portrait and the boy’s will be found in my breast…”

OK, it’s not really that cold in here, but a hot shower will still feel good.

