Tags

Susan and I have two daughters. One is a passionate advocate for reforming the criminal justice system and the other is showing how prenatal exposure to cocaine can affect the brain even in the absence of obvious symptoms of addiction.

Susan paints. I do music. (Actually Susan does music, too, and at a high level, but in this part of her life she is primarily a painter.) I think we are both a little awestruck at the high purpose our daughters have shown in their short lives. Susan and I struggle constantly with insecurities about the utility of what we do.

It was Bach who made me decide to try and become a professional musician. I wrote about one of the most important moments in my life with Bach here. For me, the high purpose of music in Bach’s own life has been a constant inspiration. Bach never apologized for being “just a musician”. On the contrary, he was always fighting for the respect he believed he deserved.

Bach is important to me, but perhaps not to you. I suppose I must reluctantly entertain the thought that perhaps your world is not rocked with the news that the Dutch Bach Society has launched a new website, called All of Bach (AoB) that promises to upload a new recording of one of Bach’s 1080 works every week from now until 2022. Each recording – each performance – is to be accompanied by “an annotated microsite” and will be “beautifully filmed.”

Bach was a man whose life truly had meaning, and whose music continues to be a beacon for millions (can I say that? yes, I can!) of people. The first performance on the All of Bach website, of a performance of the Prelude and Fugue in F# Major from the first book of the Well Tempered Clavier, only whets my appetite for more.

Where Bach leads, I will follow.

 

