We all know that the internet can take you places that you don’t anticipate.  I started my surfing journey this morning with a Google search on “showing up” that led me to a February 14, 2013 blog post by Rosabeth Moss Kanter in the Harvard Business Review:

“It’s an apparent paradox: The declining significance of place is associated with the rising significance of place. Technology helps us connect with anyone anywhere nearly instantaneously, crowdsource ideas, and work on virtual teams without ever being in the same place. But being in the same place at the right time means being able to make serendipitous connections, and even to get mistaken for someone important…  Showing up in a particular place is also critical to the new globalization, which increasingly means localization.”

To me, this endorses my concerts this weekend with the Montpelier Chamber Orchestra and Onion River Chorus as an activity essential to the new globalization.

But that wasn’t good enough for me.  I wanted more.  I wanted an endorsement of my job.  I noticed a sidebar on the HBR site linking to an article about “The Sexiest Job of the 21st Century” and figured I’d see where conducting stood on the list of sexy jobs.

From an April 1, 2014 blog post by Sean Kandel in the Harvard Business Review:

“As organizations collect increasingly large and diverse data sets, the demand for skilled data scientists will continue to rise. In fact, it was dubbed ‘The Sexiest Job of the 21st Century’ by HBR.

Unfortunately, the day-to-day reality of the role doesn’t quite match the romanticized version.”

Well, duh.  It sounds about as exciting as being an actuary, which I remember reading was considered the best job around 20 years ago.  And still no mention of conducting as a sexy job.

It wasn’t always that way.  When I was in my 20s you could buy posters of Herbert von Karajan, the conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic, if you knew where to shop.

Image

 

But times have changed, and you be a little more forthright these days about promoting the sexiness of what you do, so I Googled “sexy conductor” to see what would come up, and I struck pay dirt.

Conductors do have advocates!  It’s all there in an article titled “Humorous Signs Make the Day Better for NYC Subway Conductors: Yosef Lerner wanted conductors to know they are seen as human,” in which is embedded a minute and a half video “The New York Subway Signs Experiment,” which has been viewed around a million times.  It’s fun, and proves that pointing at things to show that you’re alert, is a transferrable skill.  I’ve got a future!

 

 

