Tags

Another day of dislocation from those I would love to be near.  Hannah had another bad night last night and this morning Susan took her to an Urgent Care facility in Brooklyn – the same one that on Tuesday sent her onto to the ER at Brooklyn Methodist Hospital, which proved so frustrating and unhelpful – but this time she was seen by a skilled, attentive, and empathetic doctor who diagnosed a kidney infection (almost certainly an opportunistic secondary infection as a result of a viral flu), and treated her appropriately.

Kudos go to Hannah for enduring a lot of discomfort, to Susan for her absolutely essential nursing and advocacy on Hannah’s behalf, and to Lissa, home with baby Silas in Cambridge, who had correctly diagnosed Hannah’s condition before the doctor had even gotten the results back from tests.

I, the son of two doctors, and the only guy on the team, stayed on the sidelines cheering on the first string players.  The last time I spoke with Hannah she doesn’t sound great, but we are hopeful that she has turned a corner and the worst is behind her.

For my part, I shoveled snow (assisted by a friend), brought in wood for the stove, tried to entertain Mischa, who because of her short legs can only go where I have shoveled, which is an area restricted to the front of the house and half of the driveway.  (She was cosmically bored all day.)

This evening I lost myself in Bach’s deeply introspective cantata “Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis,” BWV 21, whose text speaks to me.  Here is a portion:

Sighs, tears, anguish, trouble,
anxious longing, fear and death
gnaw at my constricted heart,
I experience misery, pain.

Here is only darkest night.
– I am Your faithful Friend,
that also watches in the darkness,
that might harbor dire mischief. –
Dawn then with Your radiance and light of comfort. 

 

