Tags

, ,

I check the internet pretty much everyday for news of my more currently prominent “guys” – Manny Machado, Roger Federer, and (still going strong at age 328) J. S. Bach.  This concert review, published yesterday in the Calgary Herald came up in my search for news about Bach.  It is well worth reading.

It is audaciously headlined: “Pro Musica presents a glimpse at future of classical music” and it turns out to be a review of a concert given in Calgary by the conductorless chamber orchestra A Far Cry, which is based in Boston.  One of the founding members of A Far Cry is violinist/violist Jesse Irons, who hails from Berlin, Vermont.

There is a lot to love about this article, beginning with the Jesse Irons connection.  I have not had the pleasure of working with Jesse yet, but I met his father Paul soon after we moved to Montpelier, and we in Central Vermont justifiably take pride in Jesse’s career.  I have heard Jesse and other “Criers” play in Burlington as gigging independent violinists but have not heard A Far Cry as a group.  This review only heightens my anticipation of that moment.

Here are some of the other things that made me happy.  A Far Cry replaced the originally scheduled I Musici.  I Musici is an Italian chamber orchestra founded in 1951 that has had a long and distinguished run as an interpretively middle-of-the-road conductorless ensemble, but at this point doesn’t offer anything new to the classical music scene.  I applaud Calgary Pro Musica, the concert presenter, in bringing in a less well-known group that offers more than “same old, same old.”

And I love that this concert presenting courage took place in Calgary (which is south of Red Deer and northwest of Medicine Hat, about 60 miles east of the Canadian Rockies), and that the writer of the review, Kenneth Delong, writes with evident excitement and awareness of what is happening in classical music.

One of the things that I love about living in central Vermont is the sense that the people who live here are similarly curious and ambitious about the future, and that while it might seem like we’re all going to hell in a hand basket, with the employment of some energy and initiative, we can take responsibility for a different future – be that a different future for classical music (keep your eyes and ears out especially for Scrag Mountain Music), or the food we eat, or the environment in which we live.

