I’m going to challenge myself to write every day in 2014 about my life in existential dialogue with:

1) my 15 day-old grandson Silas

Silas cropped

2) the 20th century Scottish moral philosopher John MacMurray

John_Macmurray,_Scottish_philosopher

3) J.S. Bach

Bach graphic signature

4) my brilliant, eccentric, late composition teacher Spencer Huffman

Spencer cropped

5) the Baltimore Orioles’ talented but currently injured 21 year-old third baseman Manny Machado

Manny cropped

and 6) tennis great Roger Federer.

Roger cropped

It’s a list of guys who I feel close to and appreciative of, each in their own way.  All my passions are represented: family, music, tennis, baseball, moral philosophy (which is only a passion in the sense that MacMurray gives me a vocabulary to muse upon the world).  It is a completely sexist list, but I am not ashamed of that because I love women and have many women in my life, but I have, unfortunately, relatively few close male friends.
I plan to write generally small amounts every day, in the manner of a diary, though I will not post every day.  A Year of Guys will be about my life – (this is me, by the way)
Dick cropped
– but reflected through consideration of, and imaginary dialog with, my distant guy friends.
